Grandpa’s Old Shed (Plein Air Painting)


This was painted a couple of months ago, back in March, when the weather was still in the cool stages, right now it’s up to 100*. I really felt the urge to paint plein air and found the perfect scene. I had really hoped that I’d get the whole palm in the scene since I love palms and thought it would add so much to the painting, but my measurements on the canvas were off so the palm only made it half way in. That old shed really did belong to my grandpa before he passed more than 20 years ago. It’s old and falling apart now and no long has a door, but it still made for a nice subject. I also loved the light and shadows the sunlight was creating, but after a few minutes of painting, the sun disappeared behind the clouds so I had to make up the light and shadows where I thought they’d go. This was my first largest plein air painting done with acrylics on a 16 x 20 canvas. It turned out to be even more enjoyable to work on than the smaller canvases even though it took slightly longer, I got this one done in about 3 hours. I still much prefer the larger canvas plein air paintings I’ve done, I feel so much freer painting on large than small, and I’m quite happy with this painting.

Grandpa's Old Shed

“Grandpa’s Old Shed Plein air painting. Acrylic on 16 x 20 canvas.

Till next time……

Gloria Ester

Leave a Reply

