Pumpkin Pie Cake Recipe


Well I was thankfully able to make my pumpkin dessert yesterday as planned. I still had no idea what I was going to make when I entered the kitchen, but it slowly came to me as I considered the many possibilities. I made a pumpkin pie cake that turned out delicious in my opinion, my family liked it too.

I also made a pumpkin cream pie that I shall post about later today, I haven’t tried it yet, hoping it’s also delicious.

Since I have so many pumpkin cans I tried to use as many as I could in these dessert. I used two in the following recipe although you can always just use one, and omit the pumpkin topping altogether and enjoy a simple pumpkin cake, but you will definitely be missing the yummy pumpkin pie flavor. The anise seeds and nuts are also optional, I personally love both so I added them in. Feel free to make it to your own liking though.

Pumpkin Pie Cake

Pumpkin Pie Cake

Pumpkin Pie Cake

1 can pumpkin puree (16 oz)

1 3/4 cup sugar

2/3 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs

3 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon pumpkin spice

1/2 cups coarsely chopped nuts (optional)

2 tablespoons anise seed (optional)

Pumpkin Topping: *

1 can (16 oz) pumpkin puree

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin spice

1 tablespoon butter

2 tablespoon cornstarch

1/4 cup water

Heat oven to 350*. Grease bottom of a 13 X 9 cake pan. Mix pumpkin, sugar, oil and eggs in a large bowl. Stir in remaining ingredients. Pour into pan.

In a saucepan combine pumpkin puree, sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin spice and butter. In a small bowl, mix cornstarch and water till dissolved, slowly stir into pumpkin topping. Simmer on medium heat stirring constantly until topping thickens. Slowly pour and spread prepared topping evenly on top of pumpkin cake batter.

Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until wooden toothpick comes out clean. Let cool completely before slicing. Top with dollop of whipped topping. Garnish with cinnamon or crushed nuts.

* Note: For an easier and quicker topping use 1 can prepared pumpkin pie filling instead.

I hope you like this recipe. Feel free to ask me any questions if you like.

Thanks for stopping by.

Pumpkin Pie Cake ready to eat.

Pumpkin Pie Cake ready to eat.

Till later…..

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

