Warm, Sunny Day In Winter Means Photography For Me


The day was gorgeously beautiful today. A nice welcomed change from what it has been the past few weeks, cold, gloomy and often drizzly. The sun shined for most of the day and the temperatures were perfect at 50 – 70 degrees. Being that this nice weather would only last a day, (tomorrow going back down to 40*, cold, gloomy and rainy) I heading outside to enjoy the sunshine, many other critters and wildlife seemed to have the same idea.

And yes, living in Texas has its advantages, I can still enjoy lovely greenness and many beautiful flowers at this time of year………don’t be jealous, summer time melts us each year with temperatures going into the hundreds as early as March. Winter weather though, much nicer………well okay, you can be a little jealous, cause I’ll soon be jealous of your cooler weather. For now though, I’m enjoying the weather and making as many people as I possibly can jealous of it……I’m nice that way. tee hee

Here are a few of the nature shots I took today.

This is my favorite shot for today, a couple of honey bees enjoying a sunflower, with one in mid-flight and back legs full of gathered pollen.

Couple Of Honey Bees Enjoying A Sunflower.

Couple Of Honey Bees Enjoying A Sunflower.

A close-up shot of a honey bee gathering pollen.

Close-up Of  A Honey Bee.

Close-up Of A Honey Bee.

Lots of insects were out and about enjoying both the weather and the sunflowers, including this wasp and a tiny gnat or something on that petal back there.

Wasp On Sunflower.

Wasp On Sunflower.

A couple of these butterflies were fluttering about from flower to flower. Here is one of them, I just love how their color went so well with these sunflowers.

Butterfly Enjoying A Sunflower.

Butterfly Enjoying A Sunflower.

I just couldn’t be out there with my camera and not take a black and white photo now could I? Nope, so here is another one of a butterfly and sunflower in black and white version.

Butterfly On Sunflower (Black & White Version)

Butterfly On Sunflower (Black & White Version)

A Katydid just sitting there enjoying the sunshine while chewing on his right, front foot.

A Katydid In The Sunshine.

A Katydid In The Sunshine.

This Great Kiskadee was also out enjoying the day, he just sat there watching me take photos of all the insects on the sunflowers. I’d say he was being creepy, but I was the one taking photos of him. tee hee

Great Kiskadee Sitting On a Branch.

Great Kiskadee Sitting On a Branch.

And this is the last photo I took before going inside. Just sharing it cause I loved the dark background and the way the sun was hitting the leaves.

Leaves In The Sunshine.

Leaves In The Sunshine.

This was my enjoyment time for the day. I’ve missed being outside taking photos, now looking forward to the next warm, sunny day.

I hope you all have a lovely week.

Till next time…..

6 thoughts on “Warm, Sunny Day In Winter Means Photography For Me

  1. Isn’t it amazing how the climate varies from one part of the country to the other? We have snow on the ground and you are basking in sunshine and warmth. Your photos are lovely. Thank you for sharing and allowing me to remember warmer days will soon be here!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortunately that was only for a day, now it’s so cold, cold for me anyway. The climate is always so crazy here, warm one day and freezing the next. Can’t wait for the next sunny day. Thanks so much, glad you liked them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

