Black & White Photography Challenge Day 4


I’ve been working on a black & white photography challenge in which I have to post a photo each day for 5 days. This is Day 4 of my challenge.

Yesterday was a gorgeous sunny day and all the insects were out in full swing. Some just enjoying the day, others enjoying flowers. There were also birds and lizards out and about.

I took hundreds of photos but at the end I do have to choose just one. So for today’s shot, I choose this one of a tiny bee flying from one flower to another.

Bee in midflight.

Bee in midflight.

I do believe that today holds the record so far for the most photos I took that I actually like.

Here is another bee, this time a honey bee enjoying a cape honeysuckle flower. I love these bees and I love watching them.

Honey Bee enjoying a Cape Honeysuckle flower.

Honey Bee enjoying a Cape Honeysuckle flower.

A half eaten orange, being enjoyed by some fruit flies . I have no idea what could have bitten into that orange, either a opossum or raccoon I suspect.

Half eaten orange being enjoyed by a few fruit flies.

Half eaten orange being enjoyed by a few fruit flies.

This is a sunflower with a long-legged spider perched on top. They must like something about this plant cause I’ve seen several of those spiders on these sunflower plants. This is the best shot I’ve gotten of one though.

Long legged spider on a sunflower.

Long legged spider on a sunflower.

A mockingbird eyes me while sitting on a stump after having eaten something, I couldn’t tell what it was though.

Mockingbird.

Mockingbird.

The sun peeking through a sunflower plant, it’s actually the same plant of the waving sunflower I posted on Day 1.

Sun peeking through the sunflower plant.

Sun peeking through the sunflower plant.

I just love how water drops look on things, here are some on a leaf catching some sunlight.

Water drops on a leaf.

Water drops on a leaf.

Some more drops, this time on a hibiscus flower, they just adorn this flower so nicely.

Hibiscus flower is water drops.

Hibiscus flower is water drops.

Lizards, there are hundreds of them around, they are really shy though and hide whenever they see you so it’s not always easy to get a good shot of them. But there are always those who don’t mind people around, I thank them, otherwise I wouldn’t have any photos of any of them. This is one of those lizards, I really got up close to it and it never moved, good thing too, cause I really wanted a black & white photo of one even though it took a while to find one that wasn’t scared.

Lizard.

Lizard.

This is a little skipper on a sunflower leaf, it didn’t stay long, but it did let me get a clear shot of it.

Skipper on a sunflower leaf.

Skipper on a sunflower leaf.

I went and visited this little fellow again, and to my surprise, he was actually still there after all these days. He was even in pretty much the same place, not sure if on the exact flower, but in the same vicinity. I shot another photo of him while I was there.

Cute bug on a flower.

Cute bug on a flower.

At lastly, a large gas can.

Large gas can.

Large gas can.

I still find it so interesting how black & white photos make everything looks so different. Really cool in my opinion.

Heading on to the last day.

See you soon……

Leave a Reply

