Yard Photography Finds (Sunday, November30, 2014)


I like to randomly just go outside and take photos around the yard of anything that catches my attention, mostly flowers, insects, birds, my dogs, and of the many cats around the yard. Here are a few of my favorites that I caught on Sunday during a period of about an hour. It was such a beautiful day too.

This one is of a small skipper enjoying a light, purple flower. These flowers are super tiny, I would say about 1/2 an inch in diameter at most. I like them though, they are so pretty and I wouldn’t mind them being bigger, the color is just gorgeous on them.

Skipper enjoying a tiny purple flower.

Skipper enjoying a tiny purple flower.

I spotted this praying mantis standing on a dying weed eyeing my every move. I love it when I get the opportunity to take photos of these. I find them fascinating, and cool looking. Large species are known to eat small scorpions, lizards, frogs, birds, snakes, fish and even rodents. Females have also been known to eat the males after mating has occurred. Females are crazy in every species it seems. tee hee.

Praying Mantis on a weed.

Praying Mantis on a weed.

First and foremost I love sunflowers, even though they all pretty much look the same, I can’t help but take a photo of them every time I see one. I saw this sunflower waving at me as I passed, I took its photo then waved back, it seemed to give me a slight smile and I went on my way, but not until after I had taken another photo of it from a different angle.

Sunflower waving at me.

Sunflower waving at me.

The sunflower is reaching for the heavens. I loved the sky as a backdrop to this one.

Sunflower reaching to the heavens.

Sunflower reaching to the heavens.

I spotted this Katydid on a cactus not long after leaving the company of the sunflower, yes I live in Texas, where cactus thrives so there are plenty of plants found throughout the yard. This is the first time I’ve seen a katydid on one though. Not sure what it was doing but it gave me the opportunity to take a few good shots of it.

Katydid on a Cactus.

Katydid on a Cactus.

Here is a close up of Mr Katydid as he strikes a pose when I face the camera to him.

Katydid Close-up.

Katydid Close-up.

This little butterfly was enjoying some tiny flowers right below the katydid and the cactus.

Butterfly enjoying a yellow flower.

Butterfly enjoying a yellow flower.

Another butterfly enjoying a flower nearby, this time a yellow one. It took me a while to get a good shot of this one since it never cooperated with me into being in a good angle, but finally was able to get a decent one as it moved to this tiny yellow flower.

Small yellow butterfly on a tiny yellow flower.

Small yellow butterfly on a tiny yellow flower.

There seemed to be a lot of critters in this spot with the katydid and butterflies, and as I was taking their photos I look up and spot this vulture flying low. There were many flying around, but this is the closest one that I was able to get a better shot of.

Vulture flying low.

Vulture flying low.

And this concludes my photography adventure for Sunday, Nov. 30.

Will post more photos of a photography challenge I’m working on later….

Have a great day…

Leave a Reply

