Black and White Photography 5 Day Challenge


I was challenged on Facebook by Cyndi Steen to post a black and white photo each day for 5 days. Needless to say, I think it’s a fun challenge to work on. I went outside yesterday to take my first photo for the challenge, and I ended up taking hundreds.

I ended up choosing this one of a resident cat named “Hashbrown” chewing on his 5th paw…..not really, but it sure does look like it. He’s only scratching himself and pulling on his neck skin while he does.

HashBrown scratching or "chewing" an itch.

HashBrown scratching or “chewing” an itch.

Here are a few others I liked. This one is of a red wasp on a piece of shade cloth. By the way, I kinda like red wasps, at a distance and just to look at them though. Although their color makes them look scary, they aren’t really aggressive

Red Wasp on a piece of shade cloth.

Red Wasp on a piece of shade cloth.

A butterfly resting on a pumpkin leaf.

Butterfly on a pumpkin leaf.

Butterfly on a pumpkin leaf.

This one isn’t the clearest shot, but this was just a small flower and the insect is so tiny it was hard to get a crisp photo. I have no idea what kind of insect this is, but think it’s kinda cute. It looks like it could be from the grasshopper family or some insect like that, but not sure.

Little Bug on a flower.

Little Bug on a flower.

A cluster (or whatever you’d call them) of young caterpillars enjoying a sunflower leaf.

Young Caterpillars eating a sunflower leaf.

Young Caterpillars eating a sunflower leaf.

A spider eating spider. I actually hadn’t noticed it was eating a spider until I edited the photo on the computer, I had thought it was a bee or something. Is it bad that I chuckled when I saw that it was another spider? tee hee

A spider eating another spider.

A spider eating another spider.

And this here is the sunset, I thought it looked so cool, kinda like an eerie moon instead of a sun.

Eerie Sunset

Eerie Sunset

This concludes my favorite black and white photos for December 1st.

Let’s see what I get today….

Leave a Reply

