Cinnamon Roll Kind Of Day


This cold weather just calls for some good ole baking to help keep the house warm. So I headed to the kitchen and spent most of my morning today making cinnamon rolls, which turned out delicious by the way. I hadn’t made any cinnamon rolls for a long while now, I figured it was about time.

I made half of them regular cinnamon rolls, and the other half I just added some drained, crushed pineapple and some crushed pecans to the filling. I actually preferred those over the plain ones, I love the crunch of the pecans. They were both so good though.

Close up of freshly baked cinnamon rolls

Close Up Of Freshly Baked Cinnamon Rolls

I kinda already ate 3 today. tee hee I couldn’t help it, I could so hear them calling out to me…….. I obliged, nice person that I am and all.

I got this recipe from a Better Homes and Gardens recipe book from my cookbook collection.

Cinnamon Rolls

4 1/2 to 4 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 package active dry yeast

1 cup milk

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup butter or margarine

1/2 tsp. salt

2 eggs

Filling:

3 tbsp. butter or margarine melted

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Powdered Sugar Icing:

2 cup sifted powdered sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

2 tbsp. milk or orange juice

1. In a large mixing bowl combine 2 cups of the flour and yeast; set aside. In a medium saucepan heat and stir milk, the 1/3 cup sugar, the 1/3 cup butter, and salt just till warm (120* to 130*) and butter almost melts. Add milk mixture to dry mixture along with eggs. Beat with an electric mixer on low to medium speed 30 seconds, scraping bowl. Beat on high speed 3 minutes. Using a wooden spoon, stir in as much of the remaining flour as you can.

2. Turn dough onto a floured surface. Knead in enough remaining flour to make a moderately soft dough that is smooth and elastic (3 to 5 minutes total). Shape dough into a ball. Place dough in a lightly greased bowl; turn once to grease dough. Cover and let rise in a warm place till double in size (about 1 hour).

3. Punch dough down. Turn onto a lightly floured surface. Divide in half. Cover and let rest 10 minutes. Lightly grease two 9 x 1 1/2-inch round baking pans.

4. Roll each portion of the dough into a 12 x 8-inch rectangle. Brush the melted 3 tbsp butter over dough. Combine the 1/2 cup sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over dough. Roll up, jelly-roll style, starting from a long side. Seal seam. Slice each roll into 12 equal pieces. Place in prepared pans. Cover and let rise in a warm place till nearly double (about 30 minutes).

Sliced rolls on greased pans ready to rise.

Sliced rolls on greased pans ready to rise.

5. Meanwhile, in a mixing bowl combine powered sugar, vanilla, and milk or juice. Stir in additional milk or juice, 1 tsp. at a time, till it reaches drizzling consistency.

6. Bake in a 375* oven for 20 to 25 minutes or till golden. Cool slightly; remove from pans. Drizzle with powdered sugar icing. If desired, serve warm. makes 24 rolls.

Fresh Baked Cinnamon Rolls With Glaze.

Fresh Baked Cinnamon Rolls With Glaze.

Enjoy……..

8 thoughts on “Cinnamon Roll Kind Of Day

  1. Oh my Gloria, and you bake too!! Seriously these are gorgeous and look delicious, I showed my husband and he was laughing when I told him you eat “3” – said, he’d do the same thing. Wow, they look great. Do you bake bread also?

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! I was actually tempted on getting another to eat right before bed, but I’ll be good. lol Yes, I bake bread, and all kinds of other things. Bread is one of my favorite baked goods when it just comes out of the oven. yum, so super good….with butter or cheese. mmm, I couldn’t never get tired of it. I prefer the bread as rolls though, but I’ll eat any kind. That is the only kind of bread I eat, store bought just doesn’t have the same yummy flavor. Much healthier too I think. Thanks Mary.

      Like

Leave a Reply

