Penguin Pals


Okay, first and foremost, I love penguins. There is just something so adorable about those cute and clumsy wobblers.

Of course, my favorites are the Emperor and King Penguins, which are very similar and probably the best known species. I will say this though, I do love any kind of penguin, there is just something attractive about the Emperors and Kings, maybe it’s the nice orange colors they have on their head and chest, or cause they are the ones portrayed the most in pretty much anything, books, cartoons, ect., and for most of my childhood I thought they were the only kind, so I came to love them the most…. you can’t tell me when you think of a penguin, you don’t imagine it looking like and Emperor Penguin, or King….. Right, that is just the way you imagined it, admit it. No matter what the reason, I just love them.

This is the 8th winter scene painting for this month’s challenge, and is the 3rd time I’ve painted this kind of penguin and I’m certain it won’t be the last. Painted with acrylic on 8 x 10 canvas.

Photo reference for the penguins is by Photographer Glennis Weston from PMP, backgound is my own.

Completed Painting Of "Penguin Pals"

Completed Painting Of “Penguin Pals”

Seems like these brush ones are taking a little to long to use for this challenge, so I’m thinking most of the rest will be done in palette knife, or smaller canvases which are much easier to complete at least one a day, in my case though, I need to do more than one a day, it’s pretty much the middle of the month, and I still need 22 more paintings. Ahhhh, I don’t like to think about it. Next few days I’ll be striving to paint at least 2 a day till I catch up.

Time to decide what I’m going to paint today…

2 thoughts on “Penguin Pals

Leave a Reply

