Leopard Snowflakes


I’m done with my 4th challenge painting for this month. This one was just super easy and only took me a couple of hours to complete.

Snow Leopard Sketch.

Snow Leopard Sketch.

I had a little fun with the background color, couldn’t decide one what color to do it so started off with purple then ended up throwing a few more colors into it.

The decision to put the snowflakes in, came after I had finished the snow leopard. I felt the painting needed a bit more to it so in came the idea of having it snowing, I like the way it turned out, gave the painting a bit more life.

Painted with a palette knife using acrylic on 9 x 12 canvas.

Completed Leopard Snowflake Painting.

Completed Leopard Snowflake Painting.

This little snow leopard was photographed by Photographer David Stribbling at the Marwell Zoo, a 140 acre park that is home to an incredible range of exotic and endangered species. Marwell Wildlife undertakes a broad portfolio of conservation activities which includes managing individuals and populations of threatened species, and the restoration of endangered wildlife and ecosystems.

A bit of interesting information on the snow leopard…. The snow leopard is a large cat native to the mountain ranges of Central and South Asia. It is considered endangered since there are only about 4,080 – 6,590 in the global population, with fewer than 2,500 being able to reproduce in the wild. They are carnivores, but also eat a significant amount of vegetation including grass and twigs. Snow leopards can weigh anywhere from 60 to 121 lbs. with the occasion make reaching up to 165 lbs. and small females weighing as little as 55 lbs. Females can give birth anywhere from 1-5 cubs, but the average is only 2. Cubs stay with their mother for up to 18 – 22 and don’t fully mature until about 2 to 3 years. They live anywhere from 15 to 18 years in the wild and can live up to 21 years in captivity.

The above information was collected from Wikipedia.

I haven’t decided what my next one will be, or if I’m going to even do the 10 minute ones like I had said before. I have quite a bit more time today before I go to bed, so might try doing another palette knife painting unless something else comes up, either way, I should be completed another by the end of the day.

We shall see….

2 thoughts on “Leopard Snowflakes

Leave a Reply

