Winter’s Equine Beauties


I am so behind on my 30 paintings in 30 days challenge. I have only completed 3 paintings so far and it’s already day seven. Yikes, I need to get some serious painting done.

I wasn’t able to paint much on Wednesday, and spent many hours yesterday trying to get as much as I could done on this painting, but by the end of the day, I still had the horses and foreground to complete, which I finally finished off after lunch today.

This painting took way longer than what I had anticipated, but I must say, I really love the outcome.

The horses were a struggle to paint though, especially being that the light on the photo was coming from the left and the one in my painting was from the right, but I tried my best to get it to look at least somewhat proper.

Oh and the horses legs, ugh, I hate painting legs, not matter what they are of, me and legs just don’t get along. Hence, all the happy grass growing along the fence. I say, if there is something you don’t like in a painting, cover it up with grass, yeah grass….it can be my best friend at times.

I loved painting the trees and grasses, and just plain working with a script brush, which is what I use to paint grass and branches, such fun.

This painting is painted with acrylic on 9 x 12 canvas.

I used the background from one of Jerry Yarnell’s how-to books, and adding the horses from a beautiful photo by Franklin from PMP.

For those who may not know, Jerry Yarnell is a popular artist who not only appears on many television stations, but also has his own online painting school for anyone who would like to learn how to paint. I will speak more extensively about Jerry Yarnell in a future post, he deserves a post all on his own.

Tomorrow I will try to paint at least one palette knife painting and maybe a couple of 10 minute paintings, I need some catching up to do. Making it six completed paintings by day eight, sounds much better than just three paintings in seven days.

I will try to get them all painted and posted by tomorrow.

See ya…

Completed painting of Winter's Equine Beauties.

Completed painting of Winter’s Equine Beauties.

4 thoughts on “Winter’s Equine Beauties

Leave a Reply

